Our New Home: The Buhler Centre @ 460 Portage Avenue Winnipeg Manitoba


University of Winnipeg Buhler Centre - 460 Portage Avenue Architect's rendering

University of Winnipeg Buhler Centre
460 Portage Avenue Architect’s rendering


I have been with UWinnipeg for over eleven years and in that time I have moved my own office seven times and the entire division has moved three times. This fall we will be moving into our own home. ❤

I feel like a new home owner, watching the building go up. As it grows, so does my own anticipation, anxiety and a huge sense of excitement.

I was fortunate enough to have been involved with some of the design at a very early stage of the process. The blueprints for the building periodically crossed my desk throughout the development cycle. To tell you the truth, I wasn’t very interested and didn’t see the architects’ vision or understand the true elegance and beauty of what they were creating.

A few weeks ago I was able to go on a tour of the building. Wearing a hard hat and steel-toed runners (yes, runners) that weighed a ton, I was lucky enough to view the interior of the building. All that came to mind was WOWEEE!!!!

The building is unlike anything I have ever experienced or could have even dreamt up (and I have some crazy dreams). The interior has many sharp yet brilliant angles throughout. There are streams of natural light flowing in from a glass roof that runs all the way down the entire four floors of the building and meets up with a wall of glass on the south side. Along this column of natural flowing light there are balconies where one can look down upon art and fellow students. I can tell you about it but, when trying to explain how amazing it is, I am at a loss for words. You really need to experience it to appreciate it.

I am not easily impressed. I am typically ‘cool, calm and collected’ so if you know me you know it has to be something pretty special to catch my attention.

I am going to end this by saying I have heard from many people that my new office is the nicest in the building 🙂 and that may be swaying my excitement a bit. We are to be in the building by early October (if not sooner); the building went up extremely quickly due to our warm winter. On behalf of the DCE staff we look forward to seeing you all walking through our building and enjoying it along with our wonderful offering of courses.


University of Winnipeg Buhler Centre - 460 Portage Avenue Architect's rendering

University of Winnipeg Buhler Centre
460 Portage Avenue Architect’s rendering